This page uses cookies to offer services in order with Privacy policy.
You may set conditions of storing and accessing cookies in your browser or service configuration.

Passion Concert in Kamionek
/ 15.03.2018

10-05-2014 11:38:46 11-05-2014 11:38:46 35 Summary of the event Description of the event Location of the event Organizer Organizer e-mail true DD/MM/YYYY

Passion Concert in Kamionek
15.03.2018, 7:00 p.m.
Sanctuary of St. Mary the Victorious, 365 Grochowska Street, Warsaw

This is the fifth time that the Sinfonia Varsovia Orchestra invites the residents of Warsaw to attend a Passion concert in Praga’s Kamionek district. The mood for the solemn time of Lent will be set by Gabriel Fauré’s Requiem in D minor, one of the most extraordinary masses for the dead, and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s stately Symphony No. 39 in E-flat. The Orchestra will be accompanied by the Camerata Silesia - the Katowice City Singers' Ensemble, with Marek Moś conducting.

Sinfonia Varsovia’s Passion concerts are an opportunity for listeners gathered in the Sanctuary of St. Mary the Victorious to reflect on the time of Lent and to listen to the message conveyed by the great works of sacred music. This year we will have an opportunity to hear Gabriel Fauré’s Requiem in D minor, which surprised critics called the “lullaby of death”. As an organist who has played funeral services for years, Fauré wanted his Requiem to be completely different from a typical funeral mass. Thus, the music he created was free of fear and sadness and full of heavenly peace and beauty. This is a work, which according to the composer’s words, strives to achieve eternal happiness.

Before the walls of the Sanctuary are filled with the sounds of the Requiem, Sinfonia Varsovia will perform Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony No. 39 in E-flat major. Together with the famous G minor Symphony (No. 40) and the C major (No. 41 “Jupiter”), it forms a triptych that is considered to be the greatest achievement of 18th century symphonic writing. All three were written in the same time – in the summer of 1788, and interestingly, without a specific commission. Whilst romantic legends about music written from the depths of the heart imbue these works with an air of mystery, it seems that the truth was more pragmatic. Mozart probably wanted to present his three great symphonies during subscription concerts to sustain the generosity of his wealthy patrons. Chronically short of cash, the composer was also hoping that seeing these works in print would improve his deteriorating financial situation.

The soloists in the Requiem will be Aleksandra Szafir-Makowska – soprano and Sebastian Gabryś – baritone, accompanied by the Camerata Silesia. Directed by the charismatic Anna Szostak, the ensemble is valued for its trademark sound, extraordinary precision of performance and wide range of repertoire. The concert will be conducted by maestro Marek Moś, artistic director of the AUKSO Chamber Orchestra and formerly the founder and long-term 1st violinist of the Silesian Quartet.

Admission to the concert is free.

Honorary sponsor: Tomasz Kucharski, Mayor of the Praga-Południe District of the Capital City of Warsaw and Diocesan Bishop Romuald Kamiński.

For more information about the concert please visit Calendar